Acting is Everything

I’m back!

I know, I say that a lot. And who am I kidding? I might be back to post regularly but then again I might not, who really knows? Life is full of surprises.

For now, however, I’m back. I applied and auditioned for a few drama schools last year and it was amazing for me to be able to experience the first audition process. I didn’t get a recall of course, but then I wasn’t expecting to in my first year of applying. It didn’t stop me feeling down and somewhat dwelling in self doubt but the important thing is that I overcame that.
I spent several months wondering what I really wanted to do with my life, I knew that following the path of acting would be a massive challenge; even getting into drama school will take time and dedication. A life of acting means fluctuating income, long days, short nights, rejections, and a whole pile of other uncertainties.
I told myself that I didn’t want that. I told myself it wasn’t that important, that I love my job now, I like my circumstances, I love my apartment. Why would I want to move away from that? I had to reflect on that, I had to ask what was it I planned to do instead? Did I intend to stay where I am now forever? Did I see myself still doing my current job in ten years time? Of course not. I’d convinced myself that I was content and that I didn’t need acting but I had no idea what I intended to do instead. There is nothing else as important to me as acting. Don’t get me wrong, I love my current job, I really do; but acting…acting is everything.

So it’s that time of year again, time to prepare for applications, auditions, and everything that goes along with that. I’ve made a start on my UCAS application for two of the schools, as soon as UCAS Conservatoire applications open I’ll do the same there. I’m using every spare moment to work towards it and I’m excited.

I don’t know what the point of this post was… I guess to tell myself and anyone who’s interested that I know what matters to me.

I plan to write up my audition experiences on this blog, I thought of vlogging it but I’m not great at editing and blogging is something I enjoy. Hopefully, if I get round to it, you’ll get to read about my experiences. We shall see.

What do you think?

