Book Review: Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Stardust is the perfect book to bury yourself in and escape reality with. This elegant fairytale is filled with beauty and wonder, it is well worth the read.

“‘Well,’ he said, ‘f’r example, if they ask where you’ve come from, you could say “Behind me,” and if they asked where you’re going, you’d say “In front of me.”‘”

818478Stardust is the story of a boy, or rather, it begins with the story of a boy and moves on to the story of another boy and a star.

“One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. 

No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love.”
~Goodreads.com

WHAT DID I THINK?

Stardust is a stunning fairytale full to the brim of wondrous beings and unmatched story-telling. Written in the vein of The Princess Bride (which I have yet to read but the film is wonderful) Gaiman has created the realm of Faerie within our world; filling it with the creatures of our imagination. Faerie is populated by everything we could imagine that cannot exist in our world.

“‘Because,’ announced Tristran, ‘every lover is in his heart a madman, and in his head a minstrel.'”

I didn’t realise Stardust existed as a book when I watched and loved the film but when I discovered the book I had to read it and I’m so glad I did. This book adds an entirely new, magical perspective to Stardust, there is an underlying beautiful sadness that you don’t get in the film. A subtle expression of magic and wonder.

“‘Perhaps we could arm ourselves,’ said Tristran.
‘Arm ourselves?’
‘Before they come.’
‘Before they come? Why — they’re here, you puddenhead. It’s the trees themselves. We’re in a serewood.'”

Gaiman’s magical prose is phenomenal, his characters fantastically built. Even the evil characters aren’t plain evil, there are more sides to each and every character. This dark fairytale is more than your traditional fairytale, it’s realistic and beautiful.

I look forward to reading more from Neil Gaiman and I can’t believe I hadn’t read his work before!

WHAT IS MY RATING?

Stardust gets all five stars from me, the beautiful prose in this fantastic fairytale left me yearning for more.

I would recommend this to teens and adults, there is a sexual scene, although wonderfully written and tasteful (and probably wouldn’t be recognised by a child). There are also scenes of gore.
If you love The Princess Bride by William Goldman and The Neverending Story by Michael Ende this is the book for you.

5stars

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

You can get Stardust in eBook or Paperback from Amazon: Stardust on Amazon

Find out more about Neil Gaiman and his work visit: http://www.neilgaiman.com/

Logo

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Stardust by Neil Gaiman

  1. Fantastic review, how ever I found the sexual scene between Tristan’s parents quite explicit, and I read it when I was 9. Upon reading it now 7 years later, I still found it quite shocking! But I think I’m just very easily shocked haha 🙂 I love your blog!

    Like

    1. Thank you John Watsons Moustache (Love the username), I think different people will read it very differently, thanks for the input. 🙂
      I’m so glad you love my blog! 😀

      Like

What do you think?

