Book Review: Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari

Ashes, Ashes was full of potential and really interested me from the onset. Unfortunately that interest waned and rather than being a fantastic, wonderful book it became a good book with great potential.

“There’s something special about Lucy, and they will stop at nothing to have her.”

Ashes-Ashes“A thrilling tale of adventure, romance, and one girl’s unyielding courage through the darkest of nightmares.”
Ashes, Ashes is the post-apocalyptic story of Lucy, a young girl left to fend for herself in Central Park after a plague wiped out 99% of the population.
After being chased by a pack of hunting dogs Aidan, a mysterious boy, saves her. She joins his group of survivors and finds she needs to adapt to their teamwork based lifestyle. Lucy soon discovers there is a worse danger when the Sweepers start taking people and realises they’re looking for her.
What is special about her? Will she survive for much longer?Β 

WHAT DID I THINK?

At the beginning of Ashes, Ashes I was enthralled and excited about what would come. The concept was different and had so much potential. The story opens with Lucy living her life of solitude after a disease had wiped out 99% of the population, we see her fending for herself and surviving. This opening was interesting to me, I hadn’t read anything quite like it and I’d hoped for so much more from it. Unfortunately the story spun downhill for me once she found civilisation apparently not too far from where she was living. I had hoped to read a very different post-apocalyptic story about Lucy and her life alone but that isn’t what I got.

Ring around the roses
A pocketful of posies
Ashes, ashes
We all fall down
~ englischer Kinderriem, Verfasser unbekannt

After the first third of the story I wanted action and excitement but everything seemed a little too… safe… for me. If you know me, you know I don’t like a ‘safe‘ story. I found the book a little dull and slow throughout, it wasn’t for me but I won’t slam it because I’m sure it’s something that a lot of people would love.

I think Ashes, Ashes could have been ten times better if Treggiari had omitted the rather odd love triangle. I really want to read a YA fiction without some pointless romance. Why can’t a feisty young girl go it alone or even simply make great friends? Why the romance..?

This book had real potential, I loved the idea of the disease (although I wish more was made of the S’ans…) and the way the remaining people had banded together. Seeing how Lucy had survived for the past year was fascinating and I love that she’d thought to loot a survival manual!
All in all Ashes, Ashes was a good book but it really should — and could — have been better.

WHAT IS MY RATING?

Ashes, Ashes gets three stars from me. I was only going to give it two but it picked up at the end and would have been better if I was better at concentrating on somewhat slow story-lines.

I would recommend Ashes, Ashes to teens and young adults. Although it is a little slow it does have its exciting parts and would be good for people who can pay more attention that me.
If you liked ‘The Maze Runner’ by James Dashner or ‘Allegiant’ by Veronica Roth this could be for you.

3stars

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

You can get Ashes, Ashes in paperback or eBook here: Ashes, Ashes on Amazon

Logo

What do you think?

