Book Review: The Death Cure by James Dashner

Finally we have my thoughts on the final book in the Maze Runner trilogy, The Death Cure.

The Death Cure was an interesting one, it kept me reading but seemed to have less action than book two. I wanted it to answer all the questions I had but it just didn’t…

“I don’t think there is a right or wrong anymore. Only horrible and not-quite-so-horrible.”

61FoV2P8eqL._SL1000_The Death Cure continues the story right where we left of in The Scorch Trials, this time the trials are over but Thomas finds himself with a whole new problem.

“Thomas knows that WICKED can’t be trusted, but they say the time for lies is over, that they’ve collected all they can from the Trials and now must rely on the Gladers, with full memories restored, to help them with their ultimate mission. It’s up to the Gladers to complete the blueprint for the cure to the Flare with a final voluntary test.

What WICKED doesn’t know is that something’s happened that no Trial or Variable could have foreseen. Thomas has remembered far more than they think. And he knows that he can’t believe a word of what Wicked says.

The time for lies is over. But the truth is more dangerous than Thomas could ever imagine.
Will anyone survive the Death Cure?”

~Goodreads.com

WHAT DID I THINK?

I wanted to love the conclusion to this trilogy, I really wanted to but I just didn’t. It seemed a bit…boring. The Death Cure took a long time to become involved in. There were some parts that kept me reading and really were brilliant but for the most part I was unimpressed.

I found Thomas tedious and angsty, he annoyed me a lot in The Death Cure where in the other two books he seemed far more interesting. I think this book may have been better if it hadn’t needed to live up to its action-filled predecessor. The Death Cure was far slower and, perhaps, more political. maze_runner___the_death_cure_by_carpet_crawler-d4rzl7g

There were action scenes, albeit few and far between, but they were exciting and compelling just like they should be. Those scenes are the only reason this book will get the rating it’s getting from me.

I was utterly disappointed that all the questions that had arisen throughout the books were not answered.

– SPOILER BELOW –

Who was Chancellor Ava Paige? Why did she help? Where did she go? What about the rest of the world? Where did the immunes even end up? What happened to Rat Man? Why on earth didn’t Thomas get his memories back so we could see what had happened? I honestly can’t imagine not wanting to know why I did what I did even if it was a horrible memory!
None of this is answered and that drove me mad.

– END OF SPOILER –

I did, however, absolutely love the character of Newt. I found the scenes that involved him — especially as they reached the end — touching and wonderful.

The book ends on a rather anticlimactic point and felt somewhat unfinished.

I also didn’t like the love triangle. Some day I’d love to read a fantastic dystopian novel without a pointless love triangle… It can be done, it’ll just take a wonderful writer to do it!

WHAT IS MY RATING?

The Death Cure is getting a generous three stars purely because of the action, it did compel me in some areas, and Newt’s story. I wanted this book to be better than it was and I really hoped it would at least begin to answer all those questions.

I would recommend this to younger teens and teens. I just wish Dashner had done away with the love triangle.
If you loved Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari or Divergent by Veronica Roth you’ll probably enjoy this.

3stars

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

You can get The Death Cure in eBook or paperback from Amazon: The Death Cure
You can also get the trilogy box set here: The Maze Runner Trilogy

Find out more about this series here: http://jamesdashner.com/books/maze-runner-series/

To see my review for The Maze Runner visit: https://bekahshambrook.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/book-review-the-maze-runner-by-james-dashner/
To see my review for The Scorch Trials visit: https://bekahshambrook.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/book-review-the-scorch-trials-by-james-dashner

Logo

What do you think?

