Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

I finished Allegiant — the conclusion of the Divergent trilogy — and was pleasantly surprised.
After being thoroughly enthralled by Divergent and somewhat disappointed with Insurgent I hoped for a fantastic conclusion in Allegiant and that is what I was given.

“Can I be forgiven for all I’ve done to get here?
I want to be.
I can.
I believe it.”

allegiant-veronica-rothAllegiant is the final instalment of Roth’s ‘Divergent‘ trilogy. Tris has been through a lot in the last two books and Allegiant gives rise to, perhaps, her most difficult trial yet. When Tris finds herself in a world that no longer makes sense to her she needs to discover the truth and learn what sacrifice truly means.

This conclusion to the series allows us to read from Tris’ perspective but also gives Tobias a voice.
In Allegiant, Tobias realises that honesty is more important than he knew and he needs to make some of the hardest decisions he ever has.
Will Tris understand sacrifice and will Tobias learn what’s really important?

WHAT DID I THINK?

Allegiant was a fantastic and fitting conclusion to this dystopian trilogy. Although I found it a lot slower than the other instalments and up until about half way through I was disappointed with it, Roth made up for it with a shocking and exciting ending. I was worried that this book would have an anticlimactic ending that would leave me feeling empty and unsatisfied but Roth succeeded in creating a conclusion that devastated me and left me hungering for more. allegifedant

Allegiant has been slated for many things but mostly for its ending but I felt it was well done and unexpected. It certainly made up for the first seventy five percent of the book that I felt dragged and didn’t hold my attention.

I liked the introduction of the newer characters and especially liked the character of David for his multi faceted personality. He has a certain depth that I enjoyed reading about.

-SPOILERS BELOW-

I was disappointed with what happened to Uriah, I felt that he deserved more than a coma and eventual death. Uriah could certainly have played a fantastic part in the GD versus GP revolution. 
I also wish more was made of the ‘revolution‘ I think it was played down just a little too much.

Also, I still don’t like Tobias…but perhaps that’s just my problem. 

-END OF SPOILERS-

WHAT IS MY RATING?

I’d give Allegiant four stars. I liked it far more than Insurgent but a little less than Divergent. I think if it were a little faster paced it would have been giver five stars but unfortunately everything moved a lot slower in this book. As a result it took longer for me to finish because it wasn’t a book that I ‘couldn’t put down’, I didn’t feel compelled until the end.

I’d recommend this to older teens and adults, this book is less about Tris’ relationship and more about what is happening to their society. There are more political points in Allegiant and they provoke thought in the reader.
If you enjoyed the ‘Matched Trilogy’ by Ally Condie or the ‘Hunger Games’ by Suzanne Collins you’ll love Veronica Roth’s Allegiant.

4stars

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

You can get Allegiant in paperback on Amazon: Allegiant
Or it’s on Kindle here: Allegiant eBook
You can also buy the Trilogy Box Set here: Divergent Series Box Set

To find out more about the  books and the author visit http://veronicarothbooks.blogspot.co.uk/

To read my book review for Divergent visit this page: Divergent Book Review
To read my book review for Insurgent visit this page: Insurgent Book Review

Logo

What do you think?

