Book Review: Insurgent by Veronica Roth

After reading Divergent by Veronica Roth which I thought was fantastic as you can see in my review here. I quickly followed with it’s sequel in the trilogy, Insurgent.
I want to tell you it was better than Divergent, but it wasn’t. It’s not a bad book and I did still enjoy reading it, but there was something missing.

“Do remember, though, that sometimes the people you oppress become mightier than you would like.”

insurgent-book-coverInsurgent follows ‘Divergent’ in Roth’s dystopic trilogy. Following Tris’ initiation to her chosen faction, war now looms over the factions and sides must be chosen as allegiances change. In Insurgent Tris must decide who to follow and what is the right thing to do, she finds that she must evaluate her relationships and decide which are the most important.

This sequel to ‘Divergent’ gives Tris the opportunity to come into her own when she questions the factions.
Will she make the right decision?

WHAT DID I THINK?

Insurgent was an interesting sequel, I mentioned in my review for Divergent that I would like to learn more about the factionless, and in this story my wish was granted. I enjoyed learning more about the newer characters and I liked seeing Tris develop in personality in a very real way.Insurgen32t

I did, however, find this book a little underwhelming. I found myself reading hoping it would get more action-packed and exciting. I did enjoy the story but I found some of the characters less and less likeable as the book progressed.

–SPOILERS BELOW–

I found Peter’s growth fascinating and I wish more was made of him as a character, I feel that he had more potential than he was given.
I found that I was more drawn to Jeanine and Peter than I was to Tobias.
I began to dislike Tobias even though Tris still had feelings for him, I didn’t want them to be together as the story developed, I struggled to understand what she saw in this seemingly self-obsessed, needy boy who came across far more mysterious, interesting and grown up in ‘Divergent’.

–END OF SPOILERS–

WHAT IS MY RATING?

I’m afraid to say, I’d only give this book three stars. I found myself reading just for the sake of getting to the end of the book and hoping it would improve and grip me more.
I really hope ‘Allegiant’ draws me in more and has a more satisfying ending. I think, perhaps, Insurgent fell victim to what happens to a lot of middle books of trilogies do, I think it was just a ‘journey book’, leading us to the gripping conclusion.
In the book’s defence, I think it was a good book and had it not been for the excellence of ‘Divergent’, I think I would have loved it a lot more.

I would recommend this to older teens, I think it was somewhat slow in some places. There are more scenes of a sexual nature in Insurgent thanΒ in the first instalment to the trilogy so I would be wary to recommend it to younger teens.
If you enjoyed the ‘Matched Trilogy’ by Ally Condie or the ‘Hunger Games’ by Suzanne Collins you’ll probably enjoy this.

3stars

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

You can get Insurgent in paperback on Amazon: Insurgent
Or you can buy it on Kindle here: Insurgent eBook
You can also purchase the Trilogy Box Set here: Divergent Series Box Set

To find out more about the books and the author visitΒ http://veronicarothbooks.blogspot.co.uk/

To read my book review for Divergent visit this page: Divergent Book Review

Logo

What do you think?

