Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

I recently picked up Divergent by Veronica Roth, I’d heard that it was being made into a film and I wanted to read it first; y’know, the book’s always better.
Turns out, I loved it so much I wanted to write a review and let you all know how fantastic it is.

This review will be a little different to my review of the Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie as this time I’ll only be writing about the first book in the series. I will write reviews for the second and third books but, of course, I’ll have to read them first. (When they’re written, I’ll link them at the bottom of this post.)

“Human beings as a whole cannot be good for long before the bad creeps back in and poisons us again.”

Divergent_hq

Divergent is the first book in Veronica Roth’s Divergent trilogy which includes ‘Divergent’, ‘Insurgent’ and ‘Allegiant’ all set in a futuristic dystopia from the perspective of Beatrice, a sixteen year old girl who now has to make her decision as to which of the five factions she will choose to live as a part of for the rest of her life.
She can decide to stay with her family in Abnegation (the selfless), or she can join one of the other four factions, each dedicated to cultivating a particular virtue: Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), or Erudite (the intelligent).
Beatrice makes a decision that shocks everyone.

Beatrice renames herself Tris during initiation and tries to discover who she can truly trust. Tris has a secret that she must not tell anyone, although she doesn’t really understand it herself, she has been warned that it will mean certain death if anyone finds out.
What will her secret mean for her?

WHAT DID I THINK?

This book was gripping throughout, I read it in one sitting and it has left me hungry for the next. Roth writes with fervour and kept me mesmerised in the story. I loved how none of her characters are omniscient and we only learn what they have been taught or what they believe. Tris is a very relatable character and it’s easy to empathise with her, she wants to be accepted into the faction she chooses but at the same time she can’t fit in because she is different. Her friends: Al, Will and Christina — while being wonderful friends to Tris — all have their own failings making them more engaging and real to the reader.
Divergent is an enthralling read from beginning to end and has stuck in my head since I finished, Roth ended the story well in a way that will have you desperate to read the sequel ‘Insurgent’.

d2 copyThere are a number of characters central to the story sometimes making it difficult to remember who’s who, but the wonderfully descriptive language Roth uses when you come across a new character makes them easily stick in your head.

I loved Tris’s development though the story, she changed a lot and you can see it happening. She’s thrown into situations at the end that she would have reacted to very differently in the beginning and her character really grows.

Roth’s design of the future is fascinating and I’d love to know more about the ‘factionless’ something I hope to read about in the next books. The factions and the way they react with each other are somewhat authentic in that it’s very likely that humans would react in the way she depicts thus adding to the fascinating sense of this novel.

WHAT IS MY RATING?

I would rate this book five stars. I loved Roth’s creations and I love how she writes, anyone who keeps me riveted throughout a novel has succeeded in a task that many cannot.
I would recommend this book to older teens and adults, it’s a captivating read but there is violence and some more intimate scenes that may not be appropriate for younger teens and children. If you enjoyed the ‘Matched Trilogy’ by Ally Condie but you’re after something more action-packed, this is the book for you.

5stars

WHERE CAN YOU GET IT?

You can buy Divergent in paperback on Amazon: Divergent Paperback
Or you can get Divergent on Kindle here: Divergent eBook
You can also purchase the Trilogy Box Set here: Divergent Series Box Set

To find out more about the books and the author visit http://veronicarothbooks.blogspot.co.uk/

For my review of Insurgent click here.

The movie for Divergent will be released in the UK on 4th April 2014, find out more here.

Logo

What do you think?

