Lunchbox Idea: Fruit Salad Jar

(Import from old blog: 01-10-2012)

As I was traipsing through Pinterest, I came across these ‘Salad in a Jar’ ideas. The idea seemed great since I’m always in a quandary about what to eat for lunch when I’m at work and I end up buying a pie or pasty or something else equally unhealthy so this seemed like the perfect solution!Salad-in-a-Jar_1-1

The theory of the ‘Salad in a Jar’ is to put your dressing in the bottom, then the hearty vegetables like mushroom, carrot, bell pepper and so on that will soak in the dressing. You can then add lighter vegetables like quinoa, seeds, oranges, tomatoes, red onion or strawberries. Finally the leaves and really lightweight stuff on the top.
You can store it in the fridge for up to a week, then when you want to eat it, shake it up and either tip it onto a plate or eat it right out of the jar.

I gave the ‘Salad in a Jar’ a go, and I think it’s safe to say it’s just not really my thing. I like freshly made salad, and I’m not a big fan of any salad dressing that isn’t salad cream or mayonnaise… (Not exactly low-fat, but who cares.)

Anyhow, I now had 3 rather nice 0.5L Kilner mason jars that I wanted to make good use of. Fruit is my big thing, I love the stuff and I can eat loads at a time! So I decided to try a different approach to the ‘Salad in a Jar’ and make a ‘Fruit Salad Jar’ which can be stored in the fridge and taken to work or on a picnic and they look adorable.

Fruit Salad Jar 1So here you are, my ‘Fruit Salad Jar’. I’ve made several with different fruit combinations and I’ve loved every one.
The only ‘rule’ I would mention is that if you’re adding chopped apple, make sure it’s at the bottom; that way, the orange juice (or whatever juice you choose to add) will stop the apple going brown.

This example to the left has fresh pineapple and fresh cantaloupe melon at the bottom, with raspberries on top and kiwi slices on top of that. I finished by pouring 1/4 cup of orange juice over the top and closing the jar.

You could also use the jars to store pasta meals you’ve made, I do that when I make too much and want to save some for the next day.

I’ve only been using fresh fruit for these fruit salads although I imagine it would be just as good if you decided to use tinned ingredients. You probably wouldn’t need to use much juice either since tins for fruit are full of their own juice.

Other Fruit Salad Jar Recipes:

  • Apple
  • Red Grapes
  • Cantaloupe Melon
  • PineappleΒ 
  • Orange Juice

-or-

  • Apple
  • Nectarine
  • Red Grapes
  • Mango
  • Pineapple

Another thing I’ve done recently to try and up my intake of fruits and veggies, is to make little snack packs of fruit. I bought a bunch of small Tupperware boxes and filled them all with different combinations of fruit for when I’m peckish. It’s actually working really well for me, the fruit is as accessible as a bag of crisps or a chocolate bar so I’m more inclined to eat it.

Fruit Salad Jar 2

Logo

What do you think?

